Game Preview: Penguins – Red Wings

Defnewslogo

Pittsburgh Penguins vs Detroit Red Wings Tonight: 7:30 P.M ET / 4:30 P.M PT @ In The Cage: PIT: Thomas Greiss (0-0-0) DET: Jimmy Howard (2-1-2) Key Stats: Leading Scorer (Goals): PIT: Sidney Crosby (4) DET: Gustav Nyquist (4) Powerplay: PIT: 42.11% (1st Overall) DET: 8.33% (27th Overall) Penalty Kill: PIT: 75% (23rd Overall) DET: 100% (1st … Continue reading

Postgame: Pens rally late, but lose to Flyers 5-3

Defnewslogo

The Penguins and Flyers faced off on NBC’s Rivalry Night and as always, the game was tight-checking and fast-paced. The Penguins got off to an early lead, but the opportunistic Flyers capitalized on Penguins defensive lapses throughout the game. Late in the game, the Penguins scored to keep it close, … Continue reading

Game Preview: The battle of Pennsylvania

Defnewslogo

Pittsburgh Penguins vs Philadelphia Flyers Tonight: 8:00 P.M ET / 5:00 P.M PT @ In The Cage: PIT: Marc-Andre Fleury (3-1-0) PHI: Ray Emery (1-0-1) Key Stats: Leading Scorer (Points): PIT: Sidney Crosby (9) PHI: Wayne Simmonds (7) Goals Against: PIT: 10 (6th Overall) PHI: 23 (28th Overall) Goals For: PIT: 16 (14th Overall) PHI: 17 (12th Overall) … Continue reading

Postgame: Hornqvist’s two-goal night lifts Pens

Defnewslogo

The Penguins handed the New York Islanders their first defeat tonight and improved to 3-1. The Penguins went 7-for-7 on the penalty kill and Patric Hornqvist scored twice. On Hornqvist’s second goal, which was an empty netter, Sidney Crosby picked up his 500th career assist. Thomas Hickey scored the Islanders only … Continue reading

Game Preview: Pens looking for bounce-back effort against Isles

Defnewslogo

Pittsburgh Penguins vs New York Islanders Thursday: 7:00 P.M ET / 4:00 P.M PT @ In The Cage: PIT: Marc-Andre Fleury (2-1-0) NYI: Jaroslav Halak (3-0-0) Key Stats: Leading Scorer (Goals): PIT: Sidney Crosby (4) NYI: Brock Nelson (4) Powerplay: PIT: 46.15% (1st Overall) NYI: 42.86% (2nd Overall) Penalty Kill: PIT: 60% (30th Overall) NYI: … Continue reading